Tim BradyCalendriercommuniques de pressePhotos Hautre Résolution
Tim Brady sur Facebook
Bradyworks - Historique
Repertoire
Productions
Instruments of Happiness
Of sound mind, and bodyExtraits audio
Clips sur YouTube
Inscription a l'infolettreContact
Tim Brady Guitare
To English pages
NouvellesBiographieGuitare SoloDiscographieListe des oeuvresRevue de presse
 
 

Bradyworks

Tim Brady - compositeur, guitare électrique /
André Leroux - saxophones / Philip Hornsey - percussions
/
Lori Freedman - clarinettes / Pemi Paull - alto
Brigitte Poulin & Pamela Reimer - piano / claviers
Morris Apelbaum - sonorisation
Biographies des interprètes

Bradyworks: "Traces":"Mon 20e Siècle": 21 mai 2008/Bradyworks

Liste de productions

Vision artistique
À l'origine, Bradyworks a été créé en 1989 comme outil d'interprétation de la musique de Tim Brady, dont le travail en tant que compositeur combine des éléments de musique de chambre contemporaine, jazz, rock et électroacoustique. L'instrumentation du groupe, qui conjugue guitare électrique et saxophone avec divers instruments traditionnels de musique de chambre et ajouts électroniques « en direct », contribue à créer un monde sonore unique avec un large éventail de timbres et de traditions d'interprétation. Le groupe nourrit également un fort intérêt pour le répertoire vocal en musique contemporaine. Depuis 1997, le groupe a étendu son répertoire en incluant des oeuvres d'autres compositeurs qui partagent une vision artistique semblable, souvent avec un accent sur des éléments électroacoustiques comme des bandes sonores et de l'électronique « en direct ».

Histoire
Le premier projet d'envergure de l'ensemble fut la collaboration Inventions, créé avec la compagnie de danse de Julie West en 1989. En 1991, l'ensemble effectua une tournée réussie de 12 villes nord-américaines (incluant un début à New York) et lança son premier disque compact, Inventions. En 1994, Bradyworks entreprit une tournée canadienne comptant six concerts, créa le cycle vocal de Brady Revolutionary Songs ainsi que des extraits du disque compact Scenarios produit la même année.

De 1995 à 1998, l'ensemble présenta plusieurs concerts de musique acoustique et électronique à Montréal, dont une collaboration musique/danse avec la chorégraphe Jo Leslie intitulée Strange Attractors pour guitare électrique, musique électronique « en direct » et bande sonore. En avril 1996, l'ensemble lança son deuxième disque compact Revolutionary Songs et donna un concert au Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville, où il interpréta des extraits du nouveau CD ainsi qu'une nouvelle oeuvre intitulée The Time of Drumming, concert enregistré par Radio-Canada.

En 1999, l'ensemble a ajouté un quatuor à cordes à son effectif, pour un total de neuf instruments, ce qui donnait à l'ensemble des possibilités intéressantes quant à l'orchestration et au timbre. À l'automne 2000, Bradyworks effectua sa troisième tournée canadienne importante, avec la mezzo-soprano invitée Anne-Marie Donovan, qui participa à la création du nouveau cycle vocal The Knife Thrower's Partner. La saison 2000-2001 comporta également un concert de musique vocale, enregistré par Radio-Canada, composé d’oeuvres de Claude Vivier, R. Murray Schafer, Serge Garant et André Ristic, ainsi qu'un concert de nouvelle musique pour saxophone, piano, percussion et bande sonore, avec la participation du compositeur invité/pianiste de jazz François Bourassa.

Pendant la saison 2001 – 2002, Bradyworks se produisit à The Kitchen (New York). Le groupe donna également un concert en collaboration avec la Société québécoise de la recherche en musicologie (un concert de musique pour cordes et éléments électroniques). Il donna également un concert conjoint avec l'ensemble Vox 21, un des ensembles de chambre irlandais de premier plan. En 2003, Bradyworks lance son troisième CD, intitulé Unison Rituals, sur étiquette Ambiances Magnétiques.

L'automne 2003 a vu la création de l'opéra de chambre Three Cities in the Life of Dr. Norman Bethune à Montréal, ainsi que la première tournée européenne de l'ensemble, avec des concerts en Angleterre, Écosse et Irlande, dont un concert diffusé sur les ondes de la BBC Radio 3, enregistré au studio Maida Vale à Londres. Janvier 2005 a vu deux répresentations de Three Cities in the Life of Dr. Norman Bethune à Toronto avec Bradyworks. Au printemps 2005, l'ensemble s'est transformé en sa plus récente version, avec clarinette et alto, pour créer la musique de l'opéra de chambre The Salome Dancer, au Open Ears Festival à Kitchener. La saison 2005 - 2006 a vu la sortie de l'opéra Bethune sur CD (Ambiances Magnétiques. En 2006 - 2007, l’ensemble a sorti 3 Solos - la musique de R. Murray Schafer, sur étiquette Centrediscs, le dernier prévu en format CD + DVD audio 5.1 « surround sound ».

Mentionnons aussi l'événement « Chostakovitch@100ans » au Théâtre La Chapelle en septembre 2006, l'opéra « Alternate Visions » de John Oliver, à l'Usine C en mai 2007, les cinq concerts du projet « VOYAGES » à New York en avril 2008 et, en mai 2008, l'ensemble a entrepris une tournée importante de cinq villes québécoises avec le projet multimédia « My 20th Century », dont un concert au prestigieux Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville. La plus récente production majeure de la compagnie est une tournée pancanadienne de 10 villes du projet « My 20th Century », dont une prestation au célèbre Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra New Music Festival en février 2010. En mars et avril 2014 il faisit une tournée de 7 concerts au États-Unis et en Australie, avec le baryton américan Thomas Buckner, incluant une capation par la Australian Broadcasting Corporation.

Le plus récent succès majeur de l'ensemble fût la création de la pièce "Atacama: Symphonie #3", une oeuvre du directeur artistique Tim Brady.  La pièce fût crée en juin 2012 à Montréal à une ovation enthusiaste, fût endisqué sur ATMA Classique, a gagé le PRIX OPUS "Création de l'année" pour 2012, et a eu sa création festivalière au prestigieux Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville en mai 2013.  Le plus recent projet de la compagnie est le collectif de guitare électrique: Instruments of Happiness, qui a eu des grands succès avec leurs projets pour 100 guitares en 2015 et 2016, et leur premier CD "Instruments of Happiness electric guitar quartet", lancé en mars 2016 sur étiquette américaine Starkland.

Bradyworks (BW Musique) est subventioné par le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, le Ministère de la Culture et des Communications du Québec, le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Conseil des arts de Montréal, la Fondation SOCAN et des donateurs privés.

     


  MCCQ

Tim BradyCalendar

Press Releases
Hi-Res Photos
Tim Brady on FacebookHistoryRepertoireProductions
Instruments of Happiness
Of sound mind, and bodyListen to MP3sVideos on YouTube
Join our e-mail list ContactTim plays GuitarFrançais
NewsBiographySolo GuitarDiscographyList of WorkPress
 

Bradyworks

Tim Brady - composer, electric guitar
André Leroux - saxophones / Philip Hornsey - percussion

Lori Freedman - clarinets / Pemi Paull - viola
Brigitte Poulin & Pamela Reimer - piano / keyboards
Morris Apelbaum - sound engineer
Performer biographies

Bradyworks - "Traces": "My 20th Century": May 21, 2008 / Bradyworks

List of Productions

Artistic Vision
Bradyworks
was originally created in 1989 in order to perform the music of Tim Brady, whose work as a composer combines elements of contemporary chamber music, jazz, rock and electroacoustic music. The group's instrumentation - combining electric guitar and saxophone with traditional chamber music forces and live electronics - creates a unique sound world with a vast array of timbres and performance traditions. The group also has a strong interest in contemporary vocal chamber repertoire. Since 1997 the group has expanded its repertoire to include works by other composers which partake of a similar artistic vision, often with a focus on electroacoustic elements such as tape and live electronics.

History
Bradyworks made its début with two performances of the music/dance project Inventions, created in collaboration with choreographer Julie West in 1989. The ensemble's first major festival performance on the was at the 1990 Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville. In 1991 it undertook a successful 12-city North American tour, including a New York debut, and it released its first CD, Inventions. In 1994 Bradyworks presented a 6-concert Canadian tour, featuring the premiere of Brady's major song cycle, Revolutionary Songs, as well as performances from the 1994 CD release Scenarios.

From 1995 to 1998 the ensemble presented several concerts of both acoustic and electronic music in Montreal including a music/dance collaboration with choreographer Jo Leslie entitled Strange Attractors, for electric guitar, live electronics and tape. In April 1996 the ensemble released its second CD - Revolutionary Songs - and was featured in performance at the Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville where it performed excerpts from the new CD as well as the premiere of a new work entitled The Time of Drumming, in a concert recorded for Radio-Canada.

In 1999 Bradyworks added a full string quartet to the group, bringing the total to 9 musicians and creating exciting new possibilities for the ensemble in terms of orchestration and timbre. In the fall of 2000 Bradyworks performed its third major Canadian tour with guest artist mezzo-soprano Anne-Marie Donovan, premiering Brady's new song-cycle The Knife Thrower's Partner. The 2000 - 2001 season also included a concert of vocal music, recorded for Radio-Canada, featuring music by Claude Vivier, R. Murray Schafer, Serge Garant and André Ristic, and a concert of new music for saxophone, piano, percussion and tape, with guest composer / jazz pianist François Bourassa. The 2001 - 2002 season saw Bradyworks perform at The Kitchen in New York, presenting a concert in collaboration with the Société québécoise de la recherche en musicologie (a concert of music for strings, with electronics), as well as producing a joint concert with Vox 21, one of Ireland's leading chamber ensembles. In 2003 the group released its third CD, entitled Unison Rituals, on the Ambiances magnétiques label.

In the fall of 2003 Bradyworks undertook its first European tour with concerts in England, Scotland and Ireland, including a live concert broadcast for BBC Radio 3 recorded at the Maida Vale studio in London. Following a successful premiere in October 2003 in Montreal, the group presented Brady's chamber opera Three Cities in the Life of Dr. Norman Bethune in Toronto for two nights in January 2005. In the spring of 2005 the ensemble changed its instrumentation to its current line-up, including clarinet and viola, in order to perform the music for Brady's 2-act chamber opera The Salome Dancer at the Open Ears Festival in Kitchener. In the 2005 - 2006 season Bradyworks released the opera Bethune on CD (Ambiances magnétique) and in 2006 - 2007 they released  3 Solos - the Music of R. Murray Schafer on Centrediscs, the latter being a CD/DVD Audio release in 5.1 surround sound.

Recent productions include the "Shostakovitch@100 years" project at the Théâtre la Chapelle in September 2006, John Oliver's opera "Alternate Visions" at Usine C in May 2007, the 5 concerts of the "Voyages" project with New York in April 2008, and, in May 2008, the group undertook an ambitious 5-city tour of Québec with the multi-media project "My 20th Century", including a performance at the prestigious Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville. Their most recent major production was a very successful 10-city cross-Canada tour of "My 20th Century", including a performance at the acclaimed Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra New Music Festival in February 2010. In March and April 2014 they undertook a 7-city tour of the USA and Australia, including a radio broadcast for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation, in collaboration with American baritone Thomas Buckner.

The group's most recent major success was the production of "Atacama: Symphony #3", a new work by artistic director Tim Brady. This impressive 55-minute work for 11 musicians and 20 singers was premiered in Montreal in June 2012 to a standing ovation, was awarded the PRIX OPUS for "Best new composition of the year" in 2013, was released on CD on ATMA Classique and which was opening concert at the prestigious Festival international de musique actuelle de Victoriaville in May 2013. The company's most recent project is the electric guitar collective: Instruments of Happiness.  The group had 2 very successful performances of the innovative their innovative 100 guitar projects in 2015 and 2016, and released it's first CD, "Instruments of Happiness electric guitar quartet" in March 2016 on the American Starkland label.

Bradyworks (BW Musique) is funded the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the SOCAN Foundation, and private donations.